Week 1 in 2014 – The life of a PE teacher

So we are one week into 2014 and this is my first blog of the new year. I thought I would start this year writing weekly blogs on what I encounter both as a PE teacher and in my personal life. I spent the first few days of 2014 doing the usual, eating healthy and exercising to get myself prepared for the new challenge that 2014 brings me on a personal level. As you may or may not know I play football for Yeovil Town Ladies. We are embarking on a new adventure this year in The FA Women’s Super League 2. This is an exciting opportunity but I know it will be a huge challenge juggling my time for work and ensuring I am in the best shape possible for this higher level of competition. It is of course, a challenge which I will give my all. 

I also spent a day or so doing extra planning ready for the new term. Anyone who knows me will understand that I am organised. I believe there should be a definite balance between work and life so I always make sure I am pretty much organised for the new term before the old one finishes. I know it is probably easier for me than most as I teach PE so the marking load is a lot lighter but for any teacher I believe they need to make time for family and friends and spend less time working at home (easier said than done I know).

Image

 

The first week back at school after a 2 week break is always tiring. I have been planning on setting up primary school support with the PE department in my school. The aim is to support local primary school PE to help the children get a more varied experience of PE but also to support the primary school teachers with their delivery. Giving them ideas they can take into lessons with all of their staff and pupils. It is something I feel strongly about, especially as 95% of neurological development takes place before the age of 10. It is important that children are taught skills right so once they pass the age of 10 they have the skills to cope with further demands of sport. This will also help increase their confidence and social skills in secondary PE. If we can get Primary PE at a higher level then it will have a huge knock on effect later in life. Well in theory anyway. Will keep you posted on how this goes. 

Although I teach PE full time, I also have to manage work commitments with my personal ones. I train 2 evenings a week and a Sunday with the squad and also then have to fit in 3 other gym sessions a week to ensure I am fit enough for football. In addition to this, I am also a qualified referee and have been refereeing men’s matches for the past year. This is something I really enjoy. It is sometimes extremely hard to juggle of of this with a hectic work schedule. But, I really enjoy being busy and doing as much as I can to help the students. I am still running the boot camp this year. It was very successful for the last two terms so decided to extend it to benefit the fitness of the pupils involved. I would love to run it all year long to help pupils understand that a healthy lifestyle isn’t a short term goal. It needs to be a longer term target and needs to be maintained. This will start again next week and I am looking forward to the positivity the project will bring. 

So that sums up the start to my 2014. It will be a busy one with 3 exam groups and the new WSL2 but a year I am very much looking forward to. I am now off to do some marking. 

Image

Leave a Reply

